Active Older Adults

Our members age 50 and better experience a strong sense of belonging and a network of friends who provide support for sustained health and well-being. Through fun, safe and engaging programs, activities and events , members increase their self-confidence and sense of achievement while building relationships and celebrating the success and milestones of others.

Register Online for 50 & Better Programs

Programs of Interest:

Adaptive Wellness

Diabetes Prevention

Group Interests

  • Adult Basketball
  • Arts and Humanities Groups
  • Bible Study
  • Board and Card Games
  • Book Clubs
  • Coffee Club
  • Cooking Classes
  • Dances/Proms
  • Garden Group
  • Knitting Club
  • Lifestyle Support Groups
  • Movie Mondays
  • Pickleball Teams
  • Travel Clubs
  • Walking Groups
  • Y Guys Club

Healthy Living Centers

Nutrition

Personal Fitness

Volunteering

  • Clothing Drives
  • Food Drives
  • Swim Instructors
  • Wellness MVP

Water Activities

  • Swim Lessons
  • Water Aerobics
  • Teach Swim Lessons!

And More

  • Advisory Committees
  • Ask the Expert Series
  • Birthday Parties
  • Community Partner Programs
  • Grocery Store Tours
    • Ladies’ Nights
  • Lunch Bunch
  • Lunch-N-Learn
  • Prayer Breakfast
  • Potluck Luncheons

Nutrition Resources

Reaching and maintaining a healthier weight is important for your overall health and well being. If you are significantly overweight, you have a greater risk of developing many diseases including high blood pressure, Type 2 diabetes, stroke, and some forms of cancer. For obese adults, even losing a few pounds or preventing further weight gain has health benefits. At the Y, we’re here to support your wellness journey so that you can get to a healthier weight.

Silver Sneakers

If you’re a group retiree, or part of a Medicare Advantage or Medicare Supplement Health plan, you may already have a SilverSneakers membership. This active adult wellness program is offered to many Medicare plans across the nation.

Verify Your 2018 Benefits

Have you checked with your health plan to see if your SilverSneakers® fitness program benefits have changed for 2018? Call the number on the back of your health plan ID card today!

Silver Rewards

The Silver Rewards Program encourages Silver Sneakers members to attend the Y at least nine times in a month for the opportunity to win great monthly prizes. Through the use of a punch card, members turn in the card monthly for the opportunity to win monthly prizes and the annual grand prize.

Community Partners

  • AARP
  • Alignment Healthcare
  • Aetna/Coventry
  • Agewell Institute
  • Baptist Healthy Living Centers
  • Brookdale
  • Brooks Rehabilitation
  • CarePlus

To learn how you can become a Silver Rewards Sponsor, please contact Felina Martin, Director of Healthy Living Innovation:  Healthy Aging at 904.265.1770 or email fmartin@firstcoastymca.org.

Branch Coordinators

Arlington Wanetta Sky Newbill wnewbill@firstcoastymca.org
Baptist North Georgette Butler gbutler@FirstCoastYMCA.org
Barco-Newton Kayla Van Bebber k@firstcoastymca.org
Brooks Sheri Nash snash@firstcoastymca.org
Dye Clay Kristin Schermerhorn kschermerhorn@firstcoastymca.org
Flagler Center Felina Martin fmartin@firstcoastymca.org
Johnson Wanetta Sky Newbill wnewbill@firstcoastymca.org
McArthur Karina Grego kgrego@firstcoastymca.org
Ponte Vedra Kerry Sobieski ksobieski@firstcoastymca.org
St.Augustine Brandi Otis botis@firstcoastymca.org
Williams Connie Smith csmith@firstcoastymca.org
Winston Fredda Renshaw frenshaw@firstcoastymca.org

Community Resources

Transportation

Jacksonville Transportation Authority

Seniors age 60 and older ride JTA free upon presentation of a STAR Card or government issued picture ID with birth date.  In St. John’s County, we recommend the Sunshine Bus.

Health Insurance

Shine

SHINE is a Free program offered by the Department of Elder Affairs in partnership with ElderSource. Specially-trained volunteers can assist you with your Medicare, Medicaid and health insurance questions by providing one-on-one counseling and information.

Caregiver

Caregiver Coalition

It is a fact that caregiving will impact everyone. Your role may be short-term, long-term or indefinite. Whatever your circumstances, your caregiving journey may be filled with uncertainty. The Caregiver Coalition provides resources and support to help you during this time.

Discounts!

Visit Operation $40K for a listing of national companies that provide discounts for those age 50 and better.

Register Online for 50 & Better Programs

Mission Statement: To put Christian principles into practice through programs that build healthy spirit, mind and body for all.